Charles Bukowski – Roll The Dice

If you’re going to try, go all the

way.

otherwise, don’t even start.

 

if you’re going to try, go all the

way.

this could mean losing girlfriends,

wives, relatives, jobs and

maybe your mind.

 

go all the way.

it could mean not eating for 3 or 4 days.

it could mean freezing on a

park bench.

it could mean jail,

it could mean derision,

mockery,

isolation.

isolation is the gift,

all others are a test of your

endurance, of

how much you really want to

do it.

and you’ll do it

despite rejection and the worst odds

and it will be better than

anything else

you can imagine.

 

if you’re going to try,

go all the way.

there is no other feeling like

that.

you will be alone with the gods

and the nights will flame with

fire.

 

do it, do it, do it.

do it.

 

all the way.

all the way.

 

you will ride life straight to

perfect laughter, its

the only good fight

there is.

And I’m doing it

Enduring the long distance between us

Facing myself when there’s silence and darkness

Working while loosing my passion for it

Living in a city that left me long ago

Pushing time forward

Trying to live my dream

Holding my future closeby

Reading Wilde’s words

And still smiling

Because

I’m doing it!

*********************************************************************

27 Comments

  1. September 12, 2008 at 3:22 am

    damn good poem ain’t it ?

  2. pamelablog said,

    September 13, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Yes, damn good. I have a paper copy of it near my computer

  3. james said,

    May 5, 2009 at 1:41 am

    “you will be alone with the god’s
    and the night’s will flame with fire”

    each and every time i read this poem
    a half smile grace’s my cheek
    and my heart beat’s just a little bit faster…

    cheer’s!

  4. pamelablog said,

    May 8, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    Hi James, nice to know that you appreciate the poem as much as I do!

    Cheers!

  5. Abhishek Paul said,

    August 25, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Charles Bukowski is a genius.

  6. pamelablog said,

    August 28, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Hi Paul, in reply to your comment I add another poem written by Charles Bukowski, which comes to me after having opened one of his books by chance.

    “The powers that be”

    there was a crowd at this dinner.
    they were all telling jokes of
    one sort or another,
    some of them were professional
    actors, directors of note, writers,
    and it gave me a little
    tingle to be with such talented
    humans.
    there was a lull, finally,
    and I began telling about something
    that was not a joke.
    about something that happened to me.
    I mean, I wasn’t serious but at the
    same time I was serious,
    trying to explain what
    had occured, about
    something that might occur
    unexpectedly in any man’s life,
    something to be understood,
    something to cherish.
    I guess it was
    a rather philosophical story
    informed by decades of
    my living life out.

    then, I was finished.
    there was silence.
    nobody agreed or disagreed.
    and then, at once, they all began
    again
    chatting about
    little happenings,
    the waiter appeared and
    disappeared,
    desserts and libations,
    further in-jokes and out-jokes,
    the candles flickered in their
    glass enclosures,
    eyes locked and unlocked,
    lips opened,
    mouths smiled, hands
    gestured,
    these were the talented minds that
    informed our way,
    these were the talented minds that
    informed their way.
    I was sitting with talented
    shit.

    Bye,
    Pamela

  7. travis said,

    June 5, 2010 at 7:20 am

    While seemingly brilliant, he was just trying to comfort himself, as any other poet. He was a real man, with real fears and integrity that was his own. Brave but at the same time so scared. It’s that duality that exists in us all.

  8. pamelablog said,

    June 5, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Travis,
    thank you very much for your illuminating words. They help me a lot…🙂 Pamela

  9. Thor said,

    June 9, 2010 at 12:20 am

    This gem
    Another signpost message
    From the Universe
    Telling me
    I am on the right path!

  10. pamelablog said,

    June 9, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Hi Thor,
    I have just visited your website and the section about yoga and meditation is really very interesting for me and I will read it more carefully in the next days.
    Pamela

  11. August 7, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    […] Roll the dice – Charles Bukowski […]

  12. pamelablog said,

    August 8, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Hallo Keith, thank you a lot for your mutual links! Sincerely I have never seen these videos in which Bono Vox reads Charles Bukowski’s poems and in my opinion they are nice and interesting. Furthermore, at the moment your comment is really providential for me…
    Bye, Pamela

  13. Thor said,

    August 8, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    “The Powers that Be”
    Bukowski has a way of making me feel as if I was right there with him.

    • pamelablog said,

      August 17, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      Hallo Thor, I write you only now because at the moment I am relaxing a little bit… First of all, thank you for visiting my blog again. I am happy for the feelings that Charles Bukowski is able to arouse in you and in a recent past he represented a lot for me as well, in the sense that for a certain period of my life I felt him near me through his words. This happens to me quite usually when I love a particular author and I think that it is the beauty of poetry and literature: someone writes not to feel alone and to express his/ her deepest emotions and in the meantime he/ she conveys feelings of nearness towards other people! Anyway and fortunately, in the world there is not only talented shit but also talented beautiful human beings and thanks to them it is possible to face dark passages of one’s own life and to discover who you really are.
      At the end I also visited your website and, as I told you in my first comment, I find that the sections about yoga and meditation are really interesting. I will try to meditate listening to the videos uploaded to YouTube and linked to your website: I like them! About my yoga experience I can tell you that my body is naturally quite elastic and flexible and even before starting to attend lessons with a qualified teacher in a yoga academy in Rome (I began in 2001), I was used to make instinctively strange positions to relax myself! Now I follow the method of B. K. S. Iyengar and try to dedicate at least half an hour or an hour to yoga exercises every day.
      Many wishes for your dreams and have a nice day!
      Bye, Pamela

  14. alberto said,

    October 22, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Just when I thought it couldn’t get better, it does. This and Dinosauria, We are my favorites. Ive come to a point in my life where i think this poem has a lot of meaning to me.

  15. pamelablog said,

    October 24, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Hi Alberto, I’m glad to know that things are going better for you… As you can see, some minutes ago I have posted “Dinosauria, We” here in my blog: I’ve never read it before and I find it apocalyptic but true. And then, I like it! And I have also inserted an amusing video uploaded to Youtube.
    Thanks for your visit.
    Pamela

  16. James Napier said,

    November 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

    This is my all time favorite poem by Buk. I’m glad you enjoy it as well!

    • pamelablog said,

      November 17, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      Hi James, it’s nice to know that we share something! Moreover, I wish you to find an energetic, engaging girlfriend…
      Bye bye🙂
      Pamela

  17. Tomas Prieto said,

    January 16, 2011 at 2:08 am

    I truly love this poem and I find a lot of inspiration in what he is saying. It seems like this kind of commitment to something one wants to do…or is already doing…or believes in…is quite rare in this world. But maybe, I don’t get out much…Thank-you for posting!

    • pamelablog said,

      January 19, 2011 at 9:32 pm

      Hallo Tomas,
      when I accepted your comment I was in a hurry and I took only a quick look at your poems. Now I would like to read them: would you mind inviting me to view your blog?
      Thank you for your visit and comment.
      Pamela

      • Tomas Prieto said,

        January 20, 2011 at 6:50 pm

        Hi Pamela, I decided to use a pen name for my poetry. My real name is Travis Tucker.

        I have enjoyed beginning to read your blog. You bring a lot to the table that strikes a chord in me…..

        Regarding my poetry, I have changed my settings on WordPress and now you may read my poems by going to “Poetry by Tomas Prieto” at WordPress search and look for my gravatar.

        Pamela, I am looking forward to many interesting hours visiting your blog.

        Thank you for your reply.

        Travis

      • December 29, 2011 at 8:53 am

        I like Tucker better

      • pamelablog said,

        January 1, 2012 at 5:11 pm

        Hallo,
        if you mean David Tucker – or any other Tucker -, I don’t know him at all. Anyway I think that, if you prefer his poetry, it’s only a question of taste…
        Happy new year!
        Pamela

  18. ParadoxGentleman said,

    January 8, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    I just have to say that this poem blow my mind!!! AWSOME!!!!

    • pamelablog said,

      January 8, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      Hallo Paradox Gentleman,
      Thank you for your comment. It’s nice to know that you like the poem so much!
      Bye,
      Pamela

  19. ParadoxGentleman said,

    January 8, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    I LOVE IT!!!!

    the poem is strong, direct and honest!
    😉


Leave a Reply

