Tori Amos – Crucify

    Tori Amos and her website

    Every finger in the room is pointing at me
    I wanna spit in their faces
    Then I get afraid of what that could bring
    I got a bowling ball in my stomach
    I got a desert in my mouth
    Figures that my courage would choose to sell out now
    I’ve been looking for a savior in these dirty streets
    looking for a savior beneath these dirty sheets
    I’ve been raising up my hands
    Drive another nail in
    Just what God needs
    One more victim

    Why do we
    Crucify ourselves
    Every day
    I crucify myself
    Nothing I do is good enough for you
    I crucify myself
    Every day I crucify myself
    And my heart is sick of being in chains

    I got a kick for a dog
    Beggin’ for Love
    I gotta have my suffering
    So that I can have my cross
    I know a cat named Easter
    He says will you ever learn
    You’re just an empty cage girl
    If you kill the bird
    I’ve been looking for a savior in these dirty streets
    looking for a savior beneath these dirty sheets
    I’ve been raising up my hands
    Drive another nail in
    Got enough guilt to start
    my own religion

    Why do we crucify ourselves every day I crucify myself nothing I do is good enough for you I crucify myself every day I crucify myself
    And my heart is sick of being in chains

    Please be save me I cry

    Looking for a savior in these dirty streets looking for a savior beneath these dirty sheets

    I have been raising up my hands drive another nail in where’s the angel when you need him

    Why do we crucify ourselves every day I crucify myself and nothing I do is good for you and every day I crucify myself and my heart is sick of being in chains

    I’ll never go back again to crucify myself again

    Never go back again to crucify myself every day

    *****************************************************************************************************************

Leave a Reply

